Back to the Red Fort

Well, we weren’t going to make the same mistake twice.

It had been very naive of us to turn up at the Red Fort in Delhi on a Sunday afternoon the first time we were in town. The queues had been extreme – and then we’d realised it was going to be closed on the Monday. Quite disappointing!

This time we made sure we got up early enough to avoid the queues and from experience we knew not to try to go to any of the key tourist sites on a weekend. As if we’d ever go to Oxford Street on a Saturday, why wouldn’t the same rule apply in India??

Anyway, we got our tickets, and I joined the women’s queue. About 30 minutes later Rob joined me on the other side of the security gates. In the meantime I’d got chatting with an Iranian woman who told me a slightly different version of events about the Koh-i-Noor diamond than the one that was printed on a plaque in the entrance. But I guess that’s the way history goes!

Leave a comment